Mem1 – Stationary Drift

RB050 - Mem1 - Stationary Drift

“Stationary Drift” by Mem1 (Mark and Laura Cetilia) is a calm and beautiful 4-track EP combining electronic sounds and cello to an organic musical symbiosis.

This EP starts with “Hanging Valley”, a easeful and meditative piece, with soft droning cello sounds and electronic glitches like footsteps in the snow. “Accretion” begins with a deep growling tone under a layer of light sound-textures, ending in a loud merging movement. You can hear dripping notes and oscillating high tones like glaring sunlight in “Penitentes”, named after a special snow formation found at high altitudes. And in “Stationary Drift” you can hear a sonic fog, everything covered with a nebulous blanket.

A perfect soundtrack for a walk in the snowy forest, listening to crunching snow under your feet and feeling the cold and clear air around your nose. Or to cool down a bit if you live in the southern hemisphere with some warm summer weather these days.

Release Date

All tracks by Mark and Laura Cetilia

Track 1 recorded at Kunstenaarslogies, Amersfoort (NL)
Tracks 2 + 4 recorded at Arbor St. Studios, Emory, Virginia (US)
Track 3 recorded at STEIM, Amsterdam (NL)

done by Christian Roth,
Image: Streetlights

Download tracks sonicSQUIRREL
  • 1. Hanging Valley
  • 2. Accretion
  • 3. Penitentes
  • 4. Stationary Drift
Download graphics and informations sonicSQUIRREL
  • Download release sheet (.pdf)
  • Download cover (.pdf)
  • Download front picture big (.jpg)
  • Download back picture big (.jpg)
  • Download front picture small (.jpg)
  • Download back picture small (.jpg)
Download all files sonicSQUIRREL
  • Download all files (.zip)
  • Stream release

This release is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 License.
Creative Commons Lizenzvertrag